{Day 5} Tappin’ my cares away

Today’s post is short and sweet.

I went this morning for TMS and then my husband brought me these and told me to have fun.

tap shoes

So I went for it… I put my tap shoes on for the first time in about 9 years and I walked into class. I was pretty nervous, wondering if my brain would even be able to function enough to be able to tell my feet what to do. Tap is like 80% mental… it’s basically getting your mind and your feet to work as quickly as possible, while sounding good at the same time. It’s all about clean sounding steps, which is trickier than it looks. And amazingly it’s a little bit like riding a bike… even though it’s been years and years since I learned all those steps, today they all came rushing back to me like I had been doing this all along. Now, I’m not saying it was easy! No, now I weigh significantly more and am much more out of shape than I used to be so that made it a challenge. Also I had not put those shoes on in 9 years so by the end of class my feet were bleeding and had huge blisters- ouch!!

But the joy I felt during that one hour made it all worth it.

It was truly therapeutic.

I felt like I was literally dancing my cares away. For one whole hour I actually had so much fun and even smiled!

Today was a big day for me.

I tapped. I got a facial. I even went to Bible study with a friend.

Seemingly little things…

But compared to where I was just one week ago, these little things are a BIG DEAL.

It means I’m taking control of my healing and working to get better. I am “trying” even when I am tired and want to give up. I am truly choosing to “Dance in the Rain!”

And now for your viewing pleasure, you have to watch this! It was one of my favorite SYTYCD routines EVER! THIS is what makes me love tap so much! Watching this just makes me feel happy. 🙂

And this one was pretty great too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Depression, TMS Therapy

Leave a comment